Follow these instructions to manually add users to your directory.
If you are integrated with Active Directory, G Suite, or your Payroll provider, your users are already syncing automatically, including newly hired or added users.
- Go to "Manage" in the top navigation bar and select "Directory" from the drop down
-
Click the "Actions" dropdown on the right hand side and select "Add People"
- Fill out their details and click the "Add person" button when you are done.
*Not all fields are not required, but make sure either an email address or phone number is included (or both) to ensure they can receive messages.
Adding people to the directory - permission settings
Directory access
Within Limited Access, Admins can control whether a user is able to add new people to the directory.
When this permission is turned on, the user can add new people to the directory — either manually from the Directory page or by uploading a CSV that includes people not already in Workshop.
When this permission is turned off, the user can't add new people to the directory either way:
Within Limited Access, Admins can control whether a user is able to add new people to the directory.
When this permission is turned on, the user can add new people to the directory — either manually from the Directory page or by uploading a CSV that includes people not already in Workshop.
When this permission is turned off, the user can't add new people to the directory either way:
- If they upload a CSV that includes people not already in the directory, Workshop alerts them that some people in the file can't be added to the directory or their list, and lets them download a CSV of exactly which people were excluded.
- On the Directory page, Add person, Remove person, and Edit person are all disabled for them.
How this works with sub-directories
- A Limited Access user with a sub-directory assigned who has this permission on: new people they add go into both their sub-directory and the All Company directory. They will also have the ability to remove manually added recipients.
- A Full Access user: new people they add always go into the All Company directory, since Full Access isn't scoped to a sub-directory.
What happens to existing users when this rolls out
- Limited Access users who currently have Manage Lists permission will have this new permission turned on automatically.
- Limited Access users who have a sub-directory assigned will have this new permission turned off automatically — even if they also have Manage Lists.
- New Limited Access users follow Workshop's standard default for permissions: it starts off until an Admin turns it on.